Satisfy your morbid curiosity with Simon Watt

In the run up to the festival, we’ve been catching up with some of the scientists behind this year’s plethora of events.

First up is biologist Simon Watt, who’s coming to Glasgow Science Festival for the first time…

Simon Wat

Who are you and what do you do?

Simon Watt.  I am a biologist, science communicator, writer and TV presenter.

What brings you to Glasgow Science Festival this year?

I am doing two talks and some comedy.

I am acting as MC at the thinking persons variety night, Bright Club, where researchers become stand-up comics for the night.

My talks are “Sperm Warfare” which is about the devious tricks resorted to by our cells. organs and minds to win the race to fertilization and “Why We Die“, a sort of lecture on the biology of our demise, and what the alternatives might be.

I also did my masters at Glasgow Uni years back now and was looking for an excuse to get a look around again.

When you think of Glasgow, what are the first 3 words that come to mind?

Well, I am biased having studied in the city.  So for me, it’s Kelvinhaugh, GOMA and King Tuts.  Technically 4 words I know.

If there was a zombie apocalypse, where would you hide?

I wouldn’t hide, I would fight and, I suppose, probably die.

What’s your favourite park or nature spot in Glasgow (or elsewhere if you don’t know the city!) and why?

The Necropolis – I remember coming across the deer that hide in there.

Impress us with your favourite science fact

The largest sperm in the world belong to a type of fruit fly. They are each nearly 6 cm long, about 20 times as long as their bodies.

You can catch Simon at ‘Bright Club Meets Glasgow Skeptics’ at The Admiral on Monday 10th June , ‘Why We Die’ at Blackfriars on Tuesday 11th June and “Science Communication & the Media: Careers Q&A” at the University of Glasgow on Tuesday 11th June.

Booking online, age 18+ (pub events) and 16+ (Q&A)

2 thoughts on “Satisfy your morbid curiosity with Simon Watt

  1. Pingback: Helen Arney: Le Geek, C’est Chic! | Glasgow Science Festival

  2. Pingback: The countdown begins… | Glasgow Science Festival

Leave a Reply

