Is TV bad for babies’ brains?

Professor Dimitri Christakis is a pediatrician, researcher and parent from the University of Washington and a leading expert on how media exposure (such as watching TV) affects child health. Dimitri is coming to Glasgow next month for the European Paediatrics Conference, Europaediatrics; he’s also leading a special event for Glasgow Science Festival, offering practical advice for parents and discussing the latest research in breast feeding and brain development over coffee and cupcakes!

dimitri

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Dimitri Christakis.  I am a pediatrician, a researcher and a parent.  I am passionate about child health and my laboratory focuses on how children’s early experiences shape their cognitive, social, and emotional development.

What brings you to Glasgow Science Festival this year?

I happen to be in town for the European Paediatric Association’s Conference and was delighted to be invited to the festival.  Talking with parents is one of my favorite parts of my job.

When you think of Glasgow, what are the first 3 words that come to mind?

I cannot wait.

If there was a zombie apocalypse, where would you hide?

I have the good fortune of having a 15 year old son who is well prepared for this eventuality and so I will follow his lead.

What’s your favourite park or nature spot in Glasgow and why?

I look forward to learning where I should go from my audience!

Impress us with your favourite science fact

The human brain uses as much voltage in a day as a refrigerator light does.

You can meet Dimitri at our Connecting Parents to Paediatrics event from 14:30-15:30 on 6th June at Offshore Cafe on Gibson Street.  The event is FREE and includes coffee and a cupcake. Book online.

Dmitri’s TEDx talk:

One thought on “Is TV bad for babies’ brains?

  1. Pingback: The countdown begins… | Glasgow Science Festival

Leave a Reply

