Renewable Energy Physics

Glasgow Science Festival aims to inspire people of all ages about science, including the next generation of scientists and engineers, through our free schools programme. This programme is delivered by real-life, practising scientists including Clara, Daria and George from Glasgow Caledonian University.

1. Who are you and what do you do?

Clara.png

Clara: My name is Clara Hollomey, I am a PhD student at the Audio department of Glasgow Caledonian University. My research focuses on investigating how the hearing impaired perceive music.

Daria

Daria: I am Daria Freier, a first year PhD student at Glasgow Caledonian University. My research project is finding a design for a concentrator (a lens which focuses light) which can be used to make small portable solar systems, like solar lamps and solar chargers, more efficient.

George

George: I am George Loumakis and I am a lecturer and researcher in Glasgow Caledonian University. I teach various modules that have to do with renewable energy, energy in buildings, energy resources etc. Chances are that if something contains the word energy I am somehow involved. My research focuses mostly on solar energy for the time being.

2. What brings you to Glasgow Science Festival this year

Clara: I just like making sound.

Daria: I am always keen and happy to communicate the potential of science and of renewable energy in particular to students who will shape the future.

George: I love every form of science communication and i think it’s time that us academics got out of our nice little bubble and started interacting with the public more.

3. 2016 is Scotland’s Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design. What innovation could you not live without?

Clara: I could not live without the internet. Having the knowledge of the world at my everyday disposal is pure luxury.

Daria: The best innovation for me are airplanes. Without the fast way of travelling we would not be able to see the world as we can right now.

George: I agree 100% with what Clara says about the internet.

4. It’s Glasgow Science Festival’s 10th birthday! We’ll be celebrating with some science-themed cake and balloons. What’s your birthday treat of choice?

Clara: This would probably be a Dobos-Torte (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dobos_torte). Chocolate and caramel thinly layered. For what more can you ask?

Daria: Cake!

George: My world famous triple chocolate fudgy cookies. Bring me a bowl the size of a room and i can feed the whole festival if need be.

5. And finally: impress us with your favourite science fact or joke.

Clara: An optimist sees a glass half full. A pessimist sees it half empty. An engineer sees it twice as large as it needs to be.

Daria: How many software engineers does it take to change a light bulb? None. They wouldn’t do it. It’s a hardware problem.

George: Some years ago I left Greece to come to Scotland to study solar energy. Fact, joke or both, you decide.

Clara, Daria and George are leading ‘Renewable Energy Physics’, free workshops for school pupils with hands-on experiments to explore this growing field. For more information, visit the website.

Leave a Reply

